Go back >>> PreK Play Theme Book Favorites

When all of the performers at the circus are out sick with ear infections, it’s up to Olivia to save the day! That’s no problem for Olivia, of course, because she knows how to do everything. From lion taming to trampoline jumping, unicycling to tight-rope walking, Olivia is the ultimate performer–with the ultimate imagination. Now in a board book edition perfect for little hands, readers will delight to see how Ringmaster Olivia learns to fly!

Sudipta Quallen’s spirited rhyming text, Sarah Dillard’s cheerful illustrations, and an adorable little pig will capture children’s hearts and engage their minds.
Poppy dreams of high-wires, daring acrobatics, and Big Top fame. “I’ll be a star in no time!” she cries, after practicing her stunts on fences and railings. But when she fearlessly balances on the tightrope at Zig E. Zailey’s Super Show, the unexpected happens: Poppy drops and plops…and flees in shame. Will Poppy ascend to the heights of success? Or will she head home, tail between her legs? Thanks to the fun text and circus-colorful pictures, youngsters will have a great time learning to follow their dreams–even when at first they don’t succeed.

Harold y el circo / Harold’s Circus (Miau) (Spanish Edition)

In this beautifully illustrated book, one busy family finds lots to do from sun up to sunset. At the campsite, there’s wood to chop for the fire and fish to catch. And there’s lots of time to explore, climb rocks, splash in the lake, and discover animals in the shadows of the woods. As afternoon turns to evening, supper needs to be made, and just before bed, stories are told around the campfire.

When We Go Camping is as instructional as it is delightful. Each painting highlights the tracks of one animal, which curve from the text into the illustration. Readers can turn to the glossary for more details about the wildlife depicted on each page.

When We Go Camping is a perfect way to preserve summer memories all year long.

Introduce young readers to division with this engaging title! Knowing how to use division makes planning a camping trip much easier! This Spanish-translated book will excite readers by using practice problems, vibrant images, and helpful mathematical diagrams to improve their division and STEM skills. Meet a family of three who makes 12 smores, then divides 12 by three, giving each family member four smores! Meet five friends who have ten hot dogs, then divide ten by five, giving each friend two hot dogs! Division can help families and friends make things even on a camping trip and can help children in daily life.

About Shell Education
Rachelle Cracchiolo started the company with a friend and fellow teacher. Both were eager to share their ideas and passion for education with other classroom leaders. What began as a hobby, selling lesson plans to local stores, became a part-time job after a full day of teaching, and eventually blossomed into Teacher Created Materials. The story continued in 2004 with the launch of Shell Education and the introduction of professional resources and classroom application books designed to support Teacher Created Materials curriculum resources. Today, Teacher Created Materials and Shell Education are two of the most recognized names in educational publishing around the world.

Byron Barton introduces young readers to the fun of the airport in this bold and colorful book. From the excitement of arrival to the wonder of taking off, Airport captures all the magic of an airport with joyous and powerful images and simple text. Perfect for fans of Richard Scarry and Tom Lichtenheld!

Supports the Common Core State Standards.

While looking for her lost father at the airport, Angela ends up in the front of the plane. She decides to push just one button, and then another … and another …

A young girl and her grandmother celebrate their home and relationship in this magical story. Winner of the Parents’ Choice Award!

Come join Rosalba and her grandmother, her abuela, on a magical journey as they fly over the streets, sights, and people of New York City which sparkles below. The story is narrated in English, and sprinkled with Spanish phrases as Abuela points out places that they explore together. The exhilaration in Rosalba’s and Abuela’s story is magnified by the loving bond that only a grandmother and granddaughter can share.

Once upon a sunny day, the sky clouded over and the rain came down. The chickens squawked, the dog barked, the baby cried, the traffic snarled, the groceries fell, the people bickered and still, the rain came down.